GBR done. Next, Nepal and India.

Great barrier reef was great, except for the ear infection that nearly killed me following said adventure. I’ve never been in so much pain. I was on codeine for days, laid up in bed, wondering if I’d done any serious damage. Nevertheless, the reef was incredible The temperature, the colours, the biodiversity … I’m starting to become quite the “greenie” after seeing what’s happening to the coral … nasty.

Visa is being organised for India and my flights are booked in and out of Kathmandu, so my little trip to Mt Everest base camp seems to be getting traction. I just have to figure out what I need to take and what I can leave at home – although I intend to hire a porter, carrying anything at altitude is like carrying a milestone around one’s neck … the camera has to come along though …

Otherwise, same shit, different day. Work is much the same, diving when I can, karate as much as I can discipline myself to do, trying a juice diet to improve my fatigue levels and sleep quality. Nearly finished painting the house – if you leave the spare bedrooms out of the equation …

In any case, I cannot wait to escape this western bullshit for a couple of months. Our lives are so clinical and regimented in this part of the world.